Friday, May 7, 2010

Burt’s Bees Recognizes Innovative Public Educators

38 Top Educators Received the Burt’s Bees Greater Good Foundation Awards for Teaching Excellence at NEA Foundation Gala

WASHINGTON, DC (May 3, 2010) – Thirty-eight of the nation’s top educators, selected by their state associations, received the Burt’s Bees Greater Good Foundation Awards for Teaching Excellence at the NEA Foundation’s annual Salute to Excellence in Public Education Gala held in Washington, DC on April 30. Gala honorees also included Nickelodeon and Jane Goodall, and the night’s eco-friendly production was emceed by Philippe Cousteau, CEO of EarthEcho International, Correspondent for Planet Green, and Spokesperson for Discovery Education.

“Today’s environmental challenges have captured the attention of educators and students alike. Finding solutions to these challenges is energizing teaching and learning, empowering future leaders, encouraging community service; and building real 21st century skills,” said Harriet Sanford, President and CEO of the NEA Foundation.  “This year, the Foundation is proud to partner with Earth-friendly skincare company, Burt’s Bees to bring 38 top educators into the spotlight as role-models for teachers across the country.”

These educators were selected by state associations because of their innovative instruction, advocacy for public education, attention to diversity, and their ability to connect students with community resources. As part of the award, schools of awardees will receive $750 in their honor and the NEA Foundation will cover the cost of their travel to the gala. 

“Burt’s Bees is honored to support innovative leadership in education, ushering youth into a new era, where stewardship of the Earth is a necessary ethos and skill-set. By supporting one of the most prestigious honors for public school educators in the country, the Burt’s Bees Greater Good Foundation recognizes those educators who are leading positive social change at the grassroots,” says John Replogle, CEO of Burt’s Bees.

From these 38 educators, five finalists were selected for consideration for the night’s top honor, the $25,000 NEA Member Benefits Award for Teaching Excellence. The four runners-up for the top honor will receive the Horace Mann Award for Teaching Excellence and $10,000. 

The NEA Foundation and the National Education Association jointly presented the awards with support from NEA Member Benefits, the Horace Mann Companies, the Pearson Foundation, and the Burt’s Bees Greater Good Foundation. Names and photos of the Burt’s Bees awardees, as well as student-produced tribute videos of the national finalists can be viewed at

About The NEA Foundation
The NEA Foundation is a public charity supported by contributions from educators' dues, corporate sponsors, and others who support public education initiatives.We partner with education unions, districts, and communities to create powerful, sustainable improvements in teaching and learning. Visit for more information. Find us on Facebook and Twitter, and visit our blog.

‹‹ Back to News Releases