Thursday, November 21, 2013

Five Educators Named Finalists for National Education Award

WASHINGTON, DC  (November 21, 2013) – Five educators will receive the 2014 Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence, $10,000, and recognition as one of the nation’s top educators at the NEA Foundation’s Salute to Excellence in Education Awards Gala to be held on February 7, 2014 in Washington, DC. They are:

  • Kimberley Gilles, language arts educator at Monte Vista High School in Danville, CA;
  • Eileen Sheehy, Advanced Placement government and politics and U.S. government educator at Billing West High School in Billings, MT;
  • Kathleen Sims, early childhood special education and school readiness educator at Foley Elementary School in Foley, MN;
  • Brian Sites, social studies, mathematics, and technology educator at River’s Edge High School in Richland, WA;
  • Christopher Stone, language arts, social studies, mathematics, and science educator at Pond Hill School in Wallingford, CT.

The NEA Foundation Awards for Teaching Excellence are given annually at the Foundation’s black-tie event— known as the Academy Awards of public education— that attracts more than 800 national leaders from the public education, philanthropic, and business sectors.  The awards recognize, reward, and promote excellence in teaching and advocacy for the profession.  

“These educators have been selected for this award by their peers because they have attained the highest teaching standards, as shown by their exemplary instruction, advocacy

for the profession, attention to diversity, leadership in professional development, and engagement of parents and community,” said Harriet Sanford, President and CEO of the NEA Foundation. “Honoring them is our way of thanking them for their excellent work.”

In addition to the recognition, students and educators at the awardees’ school will receive digital arts training from the Pearson Foundation.  Video profiles of the awardees will be produced during the trainings and featured at the Awards Gala.  

“We are pleased to honor these five teachers with the Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence,” said Marita Zuraitis, President and CEO of Horace Mann. “These educators teach a variety of topics, each playing an instrumental role in making sure the children of tomorrow are well-educated. Horace Mann is proud to showcase the great work done by these educators.”  

The NEA Foundation and the National Education Association jointly present the awards with support from NEA Member Benefits, the Horace Mann Companies, the Pearson Foundation, and California Casualty.

For the first time, this year, on February 7, 2014, the NEA Foundation will live stream the event on its website, enabling students, peers, and families of the awardees to join in the celebration.  

- - -

About The NEA Foundation
The NEA Foundation is a public charity supported by contributions from educators' dues, corporate sponsors, and others who support public education initiatives.We partner with education unions, districts, and communities to create powerful, sustainable improvements in teaching and learning. Visit for more information. Find us on Facebook and Twitter, and visit our blog.

‹‹ Back to News Releases