Monday, June 28, 2010

NEA Foundation Names Nation's Top 31 Educators

Awardees to be Honored at Annual Awards Gala in  Washington, DC

WASHINGTON, DC (June 28, 2010)  -- The NEA Foundation today released the names of  31 educators who will receive the 2011 The NEA Foundation Awards for Teaching Excellence, a prestigious national honor and public education’s only peer-nominated award that recognizes both outstanding instruction and advocacy for the profession.

“These educators have been selected by their peers because they have attained the highest standards of the profession, as shown by their exemplary instruction and advocacy for public education,” said Harriet Sanford, President and CEO of the NEA Foundation.  “Honoring them is our way to thank them for their excellent work.”

Each of the 31 affiliate awardees was nominated by their respective NEA state affiliate and will receive expenses-paid travel to the NEA Foundation’s annual awards gala to be held in Washington, DC to be held on February 11, 2011. The NEA Foundation also gives $750 in their honor to their schools.  Names and photos of the state nominees and national finalists can be viewed at

Five finalists will contend for awards at two levels:

  • The NEA Member Benefits Award for Teaching Excellence (one award of $25,000);
  • The Horace Mann Award for Teaching Excellence (four awards of $10,000).

The NEA Foundation and the National Education Association jointly present the awards with support from NEA Member Benefits, the Horace Mann Companies, and the Pearson Foundation.

About The NEA Foundation
The NEA Foundation is a public charity supported by contributions from educators' dues, corporate sponsors, and others who support public education initiatives.We partner with education unions, districts, and communities to create powerful, sustainable improvements in teaching and learning. Visit for more information. Find us on Facebook and Twitter, and visit our blog.

‹‹ Back to News Releases