Get to know the awardees!

These five extraordinary educators from across the country received the Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence, $10,000, and recognition at the NEA Foundation's Salute to Excellence in Education Gala on February 10, 2017.


Carol Bauer, Yorktown, Virginia



Sonia Galaviz, Boise, Idaho



Stephanie Johnson, Columbia, South Carolina



Melissa Ladd, Sharpsburg, Georgia



Dr. Al Rabanera, Fullerton, California