Awards for Teaching Excellence

They arrive early and stay late. They encourage, cajole, innovate, and challenge. They impart not just knowledge but love of learning and discovery.

  • California Casualty awardees from around the country
  • NEA Foundation President and CEO Sara A. Sneed
  • Resistance Revival Chorus Performs
  • Member Benefits Winner Casey Keyser of Frederick, Maryland
  • 2021 Awardee for Outstanding Service Public Education
  • 2021 Horace Mann Awardees
  • Attendees
  • Attendees
  • Attendees
  • Step Afrika Opens the 2021 Gala
  • Horace Mann’s Heather Cobra Addresses Viewers

The best teachers stay with us forever.

Educators are essential to our society and play a pivotal role in our democracy - that's why we believe their voices need to be honored and recognized.

The Awards for Teaching Excellence program recognizes educators from around the country who promote both excellence in teaching and advocacy for the profession. Educators are honored through three types of awards - California Casualty Awards, Horace Mann Awards, and the NEA Member Benefits Award.

California Casualty awardees are nominated from across the country by their NEA state affiliates and represent the best of their profession. From that pool of exceptional educators, 5 are chosen as Horace Mann awardees, and 1 is selected as the NEA Member Benefits awardee.

Celebrate educators with us at the 2022 Salute to Excellence in Education!

The NEA Foundation’s Salute to Excellence Gala, which honors educators from across the country, will take place on Friday, February 11, 2022.

This year 45 educators will be honored as California Casualty awardees. Five educators will be honored as Horace Mann awardees and one educator will be named at the gala as the NEA Member Benefits awardee. Be sure to join the celebration of all of these educators and of excellence in education!

You May Also Like

Tap to Close