News & Articles

Our top five reasons to nominate an NEA member for Awards for Teaching Excellence

Watch last year’s awardees discuss what it means to receive an Award for Teaching Excellence and how it will impact their students.

For every NEA member honored at the 2014 Salute to Excellence in Education Gala in Washington, D.C. on Feb. 7, there was an NEA member who played a critical role in getting them there.

There’s still time to nominate an NEA member who has touched the lives of students— an educator who inspires, leads, and advocates for the profession. We encourage all NEA affiliates to nominate an NEA member by May 1, 2014.  Be sure to check with your state affiliate for details on the nomination process. Learn more about the award selection criteria.

Why nominate? The buzz and excitement of the gala may be over, but that hasn’t stopped the influence of these awards from rolling through school hallways and into students’ lives.

With that in mind, here are our top five reasons to nominate an educator today:

    1. Awardees will be honored by more than 800 public education leaders and supporters in Washington, D.C. on Feb. 13, 2015 at the Salute to Excellence in Education Gala. Because the gala is webcast live, their students and colleagues can celebrate them, too.


    1. Awardees will be invited to embark on a year-long professional development experience designed to build global competency skills, including international field study, and culminating in curriculum they’ll use to better prepare students, and colleagues, to thrive in a flat world.


    1. Students of the five Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence recipients will have the opportunity to produce videos profiling their teachers to premiere at the Salute to Excellence in Education Gala.


    1. Each of the awardees’ schools will receive a $650 award.


  1. These prestigious awards will be announced to media, giving educators, their schools, and students much deserved acknowledgement and recognition!



Tap to Close

The NEA Foundation joins the nation in mourning the passing of a stalwart for justice and equality for all, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Supreme Court Justice of the United States.