2020 Horace Mann Awardees

From the dozens of educators that NEA affiliates select, an expert panel chooses five to receive the Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence.

Horace Mann Awardees receive $10,000, and special recognition at the NEA Foundation's Salute to Excellence in Education Gala. The panel selects one of these finalists to receive the NEA Member Benefits award and $25,000 at the gala.

2020 Awardees

Amy Galloway

NEA - Alaska
A high school social studies educator at West Valley High School in Fairbanks, Alaska.


Casey Keyser

Maryland State Education Association
Third grade educator at Butterfly Ridge Elementary School in Frederick, Maryland


Leila Kubesch

Ohio Education Association
English as a second language and Spanish educator at Norwood Middle School in Norwood, Ohio


Sara Medalen

North Dakota United
Elementary reading and math interventionist at Sunnyside Elementary School in Minot, North Dakota



Takeru Nagayoshi

Massachusetts Teachers Association
High school English educator at New Bedford High School in New Bedford, Massachusetts



Nominate an Educator

The NEA Foundation Awards for Teaching Excellence present an annual opportunity for NEA state leaders to collectively and publicly recognize and reward exemplary educators for their outstanding instruction and advocacy to advance the profession. Each NEA direct affiliate may nominate an educator to receive an Award for Teaching Excellence between September and May. Visit our Nominate an Educator page for more information and to submit a nomination.

You May Also Like

Tap to Close