For the Media

Who Will Be at Next Year’s Academy Awards of Public Education?

From Fairbanks, AK to Wheatland, WY, meet the 36 educators, nominated by their NEA state, federal, and direct affiliates, from across the country, whose pursuit of excellence in education and advocacy for the profession has earned them the 2014 California Casualty Awards for Teaching Excellence. The educators were nominated by the National Education Association’s state affiliates.

Meet next year’s awardees.


2014 Awards Gala

We look forward to honoring these special education teachers, music directors, associate professors, and others at our awards gala in Washington, DC on February 7, 2014.


Stay tuned! Five of these educators will soon be selected to receive the Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence and $10,000. A national panel will then select one educator to receive our top honor: the NEA Member Benefits Award for Teaching Excellence and $25,000, to be announced at next year’s gala.

Learn how to nominate an educator.


Tap to Close